I have a plan! Do I need one?

I almost always have a plan. That things don’t go as planned shouldn’t be a surprise. That I start out with plan A and run out of letters of the alphabet on the other hand is rare, because I have a lot of imagination and try to be prepared for a lot of things. So, let’s talk about plan B to Z. I’m preparing now for a trip. We are not on the road yet and people think I’m a tiny bit obsessed with my planning for various eventualities. Others (close family mainly) are quite happy that we put a lot of thought into it.

Before I go any further, I have to tell you: I can be perfectly happy with plan A being a return ticket booked to a nice spot in Europe, throwing a few things into the bag and plan B being the credit card purchasing stuff I forgot to pack. That kind of travelling hardly ever needs plan C.

As soon as other people get involved with whom I’m sharing the experience, things change. Because I used to travel with groups of teenagers, I used to plan everything, together with other people sharing of course. But teenagers do not only annihilate plans, they make any imagination of what could happen look rather cute. Don’t get me wrong here: I had incredible, wonderful and very special experiences. Just don’t ask me about them when I’ve spent a night in a hospital chair.

Do I have a point somewhere in here? I think so. Planning is deciding if you go alone or with friends, where to go to, self-organised or in a group, what to take, when. Every decision taken makes up the plan. The next posts are going to be about single steps of my plan to go hiking with a friend in the Torres del Paine National Park.

And if you hadn’t figured it out by now: yes, I’m a control freak.

One thought on “I have a plan! Do I need one?

Leave a Reply

