Family – an endangered species

or…the time my aunt almost got swallowed by a bathtub and my uncle was attacked by a fish in the sea. These events would be entirely unrelated if the people featuring in them weren’t related to me.

First, my aunt actually managed to end up falling into and  then sitting in a dry hotel bathtub in the middle of the night. I’m unfortunately unable to put into words how this actually went down. After much huffing and puffing and about an quarter of an hour later, she managed to extract herself pretty much unharmed which is a small miracle when you think of all the things that could have happened.

Meanwhile my uncle – from the other side of the family – went on this dream of a trip to a sandy, sunny island, far away in some exotic ocean. As we all would, he took the opportunity to walk into the calm beautiful sea on the first day, to leave stress and everyday life behind – only to step on a fish. Said fish -not a shark – took offense and bit my uncle so hard into his big toe, that he had to get stitches. Not to mention  avoid the sand for the rest of the holiday that’s practically everywhere and should be kept away from the bite on this paradisical but very sandy island.

I love my family dearly, but these odd events make me a bit wary – what will my niece or nephew blog about in the future?

 

Leave a Reply

